Russian fleet of nuclear icebreakers

Russian fleet of nuclear icebreakers (pictured here at its base Atomflot near Murmansk) has decommissioned the third ship of Arktika class, called Rossiya. Built in 1985, this ship became famous in 2007 taking the famous flag-planting expedition to the North Pole. With the addition of 50 Let Pobedy in 2007 (the construction started in 1989), this fleet now has three open-sea ships, two river icebreakers, and one container ship. The uploading of nuclear fuel from Rossiya is due to be completed in September, which will remind about the lost benefits of the Nunn-Lugar program. That initiative fully deserves the Nobel Peace Prize.

Share this blog post
Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn
Email this to someone

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *