Month: June 2016

This Week in South Sudan – Week 25

Monday 20 June International Crisis Group: “From Conflict to Cooperation? Sudan, South Sudan and Uganda” Voice of America, Straight Talk Africa video: “South Sudan in Focus” Tuesday 21 June More than 140 South Sudanese judges went on strike, demanding better working conditions and the reimbursement of four years of expenses. Wednesday 22 June The Troika… Read more »

This Week in South Sudan – Week 24

Monday 13 June BBC: “What New York Times article says about South Sudan” Tuesday 14 June A unit of the SPLA allegedly ransacked and looted a market in the Kajo Keji area, Central Equatoria State, sparking armed confrontation in which more than 20 lives were lost. 16 former officials were sentenced to life in prison… Read more »

This Week in South Sudan – Week 23

Tuesday 7 June Authorship of New York Times Op-ed debated: “South Sudan Needs Truth, Not Trials” The Guardian: “South Sudan leaders did not sign off New York Times article, aides say” Foreign Policy: “The New York Times South Sudan Op-Ed That Wasn’t” The Washington Post: “Who wrote that op-ed? The New York Times isn’t sure.”… Read more »

This Week in South Sudan – Week 22

Wednesday 1 June The UN Security Council unanimously renewed until 31 May 2017 sanctions against South Sudanese leaders perceived to be blocking peace, security and stability in the country. Thursday 2 June There are conflicting interpretations within the presidency of the mandate for the announced committee to review the 28-state plan. Friday 3 June Renewed clashes between… Read more »

This Week in South Sudan – Week 21

Monday 23 May National Security officers, deployed to control queues at fuel stations, accused of extorting money from customers. The SPLA (IO) refuted allegations that their forces had attacked SPLA locations near Bentiu, Unity State.  Tuesday 24 May Tens of thousands of people in the western regions of South Sudan have been forced to flee killings,… Read more »