This Week in South Sudan – Week 20

Monday 15 May

Tuesday 16 May

Wednesday 17 May

  • Reported clashes between government and opposition forces in Yei, Central Equatoria State.

Thursday 18 May

  • President Kiir announced the National Dialogue will start on 22 May, despite missing commitments from key opposition figures.
  • CNN in-depth: “Faced with slaughter they fled, now their safe haven teeters on the brink”

Friday 19 May

This Week in South Sudan – Week 19

 Monday 8 May

Tuesday 9 May

  • Unknown gunmen attacked Taban Deng Gai’s convoy between Juba and Bor, wounding three of his security guards. The vice president was not traveling with the convoy at the time of the attack.
  • SPLA’s Chief of General Staff, Gen. Paul Malong was unexpectedly dismissed by President Salva Kiir, prompting him to leave Juba for Aweil the same day. His exit caused speculations that he might revolt, however, Malong later said he had no problems with GoSS and returned to Juba on May 13. Malong’s successor, Gen. James Ajongo, was sworn in as the new SPLA Chief of General Staff on 10 May.
  • People arrested following protests in Juba against the rising cost of living and the on-going civil war. The reported numbers of arrests vary from five to dozens.

Friday 12 May

  • GoSS have opened about 30 shops in Juba selling staple foods at discount prices as the famine-affected country faces inflation in excess of 400 percent.
  • South Sudan’s biggest bank, the Kenya-based KCB Group Plc, will temporarily shut down five branches as hyperinflation and a shortage of dollars depletes the group’s profits. Ten branches will remain open.
  • SPLA (IO) admits losing control of Kaka town, Upper Nile State.
  • UN Special Envoy, David Shearer, warns that the deteriorating security situation, especially in the Bor-Pibor area between youths from the Dinka Bor and Murle communities, can worsen the humanitarian situation in the country further.

Saturday 13 May

This Week in South Sudan – Week 18

 Wednesday 3 May

  • President Salva Kiir plans to tour the country in an attempt to mobilise popular support for the national dialogue process.
  • South Sudan Judges and Justices declared a nationwide strike after negotiations with the government failed. The strikers demand better working conditions and the Chief Justice’s resignation.
  • Pulitzer Price: “Millions Are on the Brink of War-Driven Starvation in South Sudan”

Thursday 4 May

  • The executive director of the Unity Cultural and Development Center, a NGO in Wau, has been detained for two weeks by security officials without a provided reason.

Friday 5 May

Saturday 6 May

Sunday 7 May

This Week in South Sudan – Week 17

Monday 24 April

Tuesday 25 April

Wednesday 26 April

Thursday 27 April  

Monday 1 May

Tuesday 2 May

This Week in South Sudan – Week 16

Tuesday 18 April

Wednesday 19 April

  • 16 MONUSCO staff were briefly held hostage by unarmed South Sudanese refugees in the Munigi base in eastern DRC. The refugees, most of which are former SPLA (IO) fighters, demanded to be sent to a third country in order to avoid forced return to South Sudan.
  • Bloomberg, refugee stories from Leer, Unity State: “Famine-Stricken South Sudanese Hide in Swamps to Escape War”

Thursday 20 April  

Friday 21 April

Sunday 23 April

This Week in South Sudan – Week 15

Tuesday 12 April

  • Sudan, in collaboration with the World Food Program and the Government of South Sudan (GoSS), has opened a second humanitarian corridor between El Obeid in Sudan and Bentiu in South Sudan.
  • Aly Verjee in African Arguments: “Why calling for a ceasefire in South Sudan can be a bad idea”

Wednesday 13 April

Thursday 14 April  

Friday 15 April

  • At least 15 people were killed in clashes between government forces and the SPLA (IO) in Raga, Western Bahr el Ghazal. Skirmishes have also been reported in other areas in the Greater Upper Nile region (Yuai, Waat and Wunkur and Tonga).
  • Deutsche Welle present stories from refugees in Kenya: “Manuela – fleeing South Sudan”

Saturday 16 April

  • According to Radio Tamazuj, at least 40 church leaders have been killed across South Sudan between December 2013 and March 2017.
  • The Guardian: “How factions in South Sudan’s war took shape on British campuses”

Sunday 17 April

This Week in South Sudan – Week 14

Monday 3 April

Tuesday 4 April

  • Reuters: “Refugees recount South Sudan attack: ‘If you ran, you got shot’”
  • Foreign Affairs: “Fear and Famine in South Sudan”

Wednesday 5 April

Friday 7 April

Sunday 9 April

  • At least 16 civilians killed and 10 more wounded after reported ethnic-targeted attacks in Wau town, Western Bahr el Ghazal by government-aligned militias.

Monday 10 April

  • According to Radio Tamazuj, South Sudan’s foreign-service diplomats have not been paid for six months, while SPLA soldiers have gone unpaid for two months.

Tuesday 11 April

This Week in South Sudan – Week 13

Tuesday 28 Mars

Wednesday 29 Mars

Thursday 30 Mars

Friday 31 Mars

Saturday 1 April

  • Riek Machar met with Festus Mogae, the head of the Joint Monitoring and Evaluation Commission (JMEC) in South Africa to discuss Kiir’s calls for a unilateral ceasefire and a national dialogue.
  • The Washington Post: “South Sudan’s civil war creates a new lost generation”

This Week in South Sudan – Week 12

Tuesday 21 Mars

Wednesday 22 Mars

Thursday 23 Mars  

Friday 24 Mars

Sunday 26 Mars

Democratise or disintegrate: how the AU can help South Sudan

The excerpt below is from a recently published report by Amanda Lucey and Liezelle Kumalo at the Institute for Security Studies (ISS). It is part of a broader project called ‘Enhancing African responses to peacebuilding’ by three partner organisations – ISS, the Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO) and New York University’s Center on International Cooperation (CIC). The publication was made possible in part by a grant from the Carnegie Corporation of New York and the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.


Abstract

The implementation of South Sudan’s latest peace agreement appears to be at a standstill. Insecurity, food shortages and the breakdown in governance have forced more than 1.5 million people to flee the country. President Salva Kiir’s announcement of a forthcoming national dialogue offers some hope. Yet people are divided on the legitimacy of the process: is this a ruse to detract attention from important reforms, or is it an opportunity to finally broaden the political process in South Sudan? External actors, including the African Union (AU), are also at odds with one another. This report looks at how the AU can enhance the prospects for peace in South Sudan

 

To read the full report, click on the link below

https://issafrica.org/research/east-africa-report/democratise-or-disintegrate-how-the-au-can-help-south-sudan