This Week in South Sudan – Week 41

Wednesday 11 October

Thursday 12 October

  • The Economist: “As South Sudan implodes, America reconsiders its support for the regime”

Friday 13 October

Saturday 14 October

  • Al Jazeera, in pictures: “Seeking shelter in war-torn South Sudan”

Sunday 15 October

  • The Washington Post’s in-depth interview with an unapologetic President Salva Kiir “South Sudan is a disaster. Its president says: Not my fault.”
  • PBS in-depth: “Why reporting from South Sudan is so difficult — and critically needed”

Monday 16 October

This Week in South Sudan – Week 40

Tuesday 3 October

Wednesday 4 October

  • To boost bilateral trade and the South Sudanese economy, the Government of South Sudan (GoSS) is negotiating with the Government of Sudan to reopen river transportation on the White Nile.
  • Reuters: “Daughters of violence: South Sudanese refugee rape victims in Uganda”

Thursday 5 October

Friday 6 October

Monday 9 October

  • Tensions increase in Uganda’s refugee camps as food rations are cut in half. This is due to the massive flood of refugees overwhelming aid agencies, combined with delayed deliveries and constraints on funding.

This Week in South Sudan – Week 39

Tuesday 26 September

Wednesday 27 September

Thursday 28 September

Saturday 30 September

Sunday 1 October 

Monday 2 October

This Week in South Sudan – Week 38

Monday 18 September

Tuesday 19 September

Wednesday 20 September

Thursday 21 September

Friday 22 September

Saturday 23 September

  • The Government of South Sudan (GoSS) called for the “unconditional” release of 14 officials captured in Akobo county Jonglei State. GoSS claim the officials were part of a peace delegation, and are held captured by armed youth loyal to Riek Machar. Meanwhile, the SPLA (IO) claim to have captured 25 government soldiers and a county commissioner in the same area. 

Sunday 24 September

 Monday 25 September

  • Bloomberg: “Risky Roads a Boon for Airlines in War-Ravaged South Sudan” 

This Week in South Sudan – Week 37

Monday 11 September

Tuesday 12 September

  • Floods have reportedly displaced more than 100,000 people in South Sudan. In Bor town  at least 1,200 households are affected as houses have been washed away and hundreds of families lack shelter and food.

Wednesday 13 September

Thursday 14 September

Friday 15 September

Saturday 16 September

Sunday 17 September

  • Al Jazeera on sexual abuse and violations of South Sudanese women: “’Thousands of women raped and assaulted’ in South Sudan”

This Week in South Sudan – Week 35 & 36

Tuesday 29 August

Wednesday 30 August

Thursday 31 August

  • Foreign Policy photo feature on South Sudan rebel life: “No Country for Civilians”

Friday 1 September

  • The only foreign victim to come forward and provide evidence against the twelve SPLA soldiers accused after the Terrain Hotel attack trial, testified in court. The Italian woman urged other survivors to speak up.

Saturday 2 September

Monday 4 September

Tuesday 5 September

Wednesday 6 September

Thursday 7 September

Friday 8 September

Saturday 9 September

This Week in South Sudan – Week 33 & 34

Dear Readers, please note that there will be no news update next week. We will be back on Monday 11 September with a two-week TWISS update for week 35 and 36.

Monday 14 August

Thursday 17 August

Friday 18 August

Saturday 19 August

Monday 21 August

Tuesday 22 August

Wednesday 23 August

  • Armed robberies have reportedly claimed at least 53 lives in Juba in August. Armed soldiers are allegedly the main perpetrators behind the recent crime wave in the capital. 

Thursday 24 August

  • The Special Envoy for South Sudan, Nicholas Haysom, warned that the conflict will worsen if serious issues are left unaddressed before the planned 2018 elections, saying GoSS has only “created an appearance of reconciliation efforts.”
  • Reuters, in-depth coverage on internally displaced people in Wau “Church offers age-old sanctuary to South Sudan’s dispossessed”
  • Deutsche Welle, interview with President Salva Kiir: “South Sudan President Salva Kiir downplays refugee crisis”

Friday 25 August

Sunday 27 August

This Week in South Sudan – Week 32

 

Dear Readers, please note that there will be no news update next week. We will be back on Monday August 28 with a two-week TWISS update for week 33 and 34.

Monday 7 August

Tuesday 8 August

Wednesday 9 August

  • Reuters: “Long road to recovery for South Sudan’s youngest”

Thursday 10 August

Friday 11 August

This Week in South Sudan – Week 31

 Monday 31 July

 Tuesday 1 August

Wednesday 2 August

 Thursday 3 August

Friday 4 August

 Saturday 5 August

Sunday 6 August

This Week in South Sudan – Week 30

Wednesday 26 July

  • The Government of South Sudan (GoSS) stated that the proposed revitalization forum by IGAD would not be a platform for renegotiation of the 2015 peace agreement.
  • The Guardian on unaccompanied refugee children: “South Sudan: ‘When we came home for lunch our parents had been killed’

Thursday 27 July

Friday 28 July

Saturday 29 July

Sunday 30 July