This Week in South Sudan – Week 16

Monday 16 April

Tuesday 17 April

Wednesday 18 April

Thursday 19 April

Friday 20 April

Sunday 22 April

This Week in South Sudan – Week 15

Monday 9 April

Tuesday 10 April

Wednesday 11 April

Thursday 12 April

Sunday 15 April

This Week in South Sudan – Week 14

Tuesday 3 April

Wednesday 4 April

Thursday 5 April

Friday 6 April

Saturday 7 April

Sunday 8 April

This Week in South Sudan – Week 13

Tuesday 27 March

Wednesday 28 March

Saturday 31 March

Sunday 1 April

Monday 2 April

Monitoring South Sudan Week 12


Tuesday 20. March

Wednesday 21. March

Thursday 22. March

  • South Sudanese security operatives arrested Mark Mabil, an official at the state-owned oil company Nile Petroleum Corporation (NilPet). Mabil is accused of leaking confidential documents. The arrest follows a recent investigative report by Global Witness “Capture on the Nile” that accused GoSS of using NilePet revenue to fuel the on-going conflict.
  • The SPLA and SPLA (IO) traded accusations over reported clashes in several areas in Upper Nile and in Central Equatoria.

Saturday 24. March

Monday 26. March

This Week in South Sudan – Week 11

Tuesday 13 March

  • Salvatore Garang Mabiordit, a former undersecretary in the finance ministry, has been appointed as the new Minister of Finance following President Salva Kiir’s dismissal of Stephen Dhieu Dau.
    • Radio Tamazuj: “Profile: South Sudan’s new finance minister Salvatore Garang”
  • At least 16 people were killed during inter-communal clashes in Jalwau, Warrap State, between youth from Jalwau County and northern Rumbek.
  • The Guardian, in pictures: “South Sudan’s Dinka people”
  • Al Jazeera reports from Pagak, Upper Nile State: “South Sudan refugees return to devastated town”

Wednesday 14 March

Thursday 15 March

Friday 16 March

  • Former SPLA chief of staff, Paul Malong visited Khartoum, sparking social media speculations about the exact cause and objective behind the visit.

Monday 19 March

  • IGAD’s Council of Ministers will meet on 26 March to evaluate the recent peace talks and propose a way forward.
  • Reuters: ”Cows in the classroom: inside South Sudan’s cattle camp schools”
  • AFP: ”Living across the front lines in South Sudan”

This Week in South Sudan – Week 10

 Tuesday 6 March

Wednesday 7 March

Friday 9 March

Monday 12 March

This Week in South Sudan – Week 9

Tuesday 27 February

  • At least 21 people were killed and 20 others wounded in inter-communal clashes between members of the Thiik and Jalwau sub-clans in Tonj area, Warrap State.
  • The Government of Kenya denied allegations that it has smuggled large quantities of weapons and ammunition into South Sudan.

Wednesday 28 February

Thursday 1 March

Monday 5 March

This Week in South Sudan – Week 8

Tuesday 20 February

Wednesday 21 February

  • The Kenyan foreign ministry advise Kenyans against travelling to several areas in South Sudan.

Friday 23 February

Saturday 24 February

Monday 26 February

This Week in South Sudan – Week 6 & 7

Tuesday 6 February

Wednesday 7 February

Thursday 8 February

Monday 12 February

Tuesday 13 February

Thursday 15 February

Friday 16 February

Monday 19 February

  • The SPLA (IO) released two Kenyan pilots after receiving a compensation payment. The pilots have been held captive since early January when their plane crashed and killed a civilian in Akobo, Upper Nile State.
  • The Nyara and Biong communities in Jonglei State have signed an agreement to end the conflict over grazing land that has claimed 37 lives in the past two months.